Camera-Shy

By shy

Foxton Locks

All in all, Sunday was a good day. Mind you, it did have a rather early start with the arrival of youngest son Ed and his girlfriend at just gone midnight. He was dropping off a load of stuff from his student house, and he was bursting to tell us about his archaeological dig, and he wanted to "borrow" some cash to go to Glastonbury.
We finally shoe-horned him out of the door at about 2:30 and went to bed. The following day, we drove to Leicester to pick up more of Ed's stuff and to deliver some cash. This was met with a cheery "happy father's day". I thought I was supposed to get stuff, not give it. On the way back, we popped in at Foxton Locks, which is a huge staircase of 10 or so locks whick are so complicated to operate that a full time British Waterways official has to officiate. This is to make sure the queuing sytem operates properly, and to be sure that locks don't flood or dry out as a result of opening the sluices in the wrong order. It takes two hours to get through the staircase, and probably a day of queuing. This isn't so bad as there are two pubs at the water's edge.

Looking back over the weekend, I've realised that I managed to see all my children plus grandson, and got a pretty good father's day pressie off my eldest. Sunday evening was spend with my dear wife on the sofa instead of blipping - something we haven't done for the 4 months since starting this thing. It did mean I didn't have time to comment, but perhaps you'll forgive me for that.

I will be off line most of the week because work has forced me to go to Devon for 3 days.

It's a tough job, but someone's got to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.