twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Quest

Strange day; in the office from early. I wanted to get my hours in as I was due out at 4 to round up the boys; and was supposed to do lunch (postponed from Monday), but that fell through (now rebooked for Monday - third time lucky?)

So, it was dark on the way in and would be flat out in the remaining daylight so would have no chance to take photos. So lunchtime was an exercise in seeing how far off the beaten track I could get.
Already I am surrounded by people who either don't leave the building, or those that do but manage to go as far as the shop across the street.

So my quest today was to see how far I could reasonably get in a half hour lunchbreak. And I have to think I could cover a lot of ground doing this. I suppose when I worked in Stores at Slateford Road, I would see how far I could get in an hour on the bike; Ratho was pretty good, Balerno was optimistic but on a good day could be done. And so years later, I'm applying the same rules.

I also want to veer away from obvious shots of Edinburgh - if I turned around 180 degrees from this shot, you would have shot of the castle. But I preferred the view up the steps, the handrail catching the eye, sun reflecting off it.

Woke up this morning and had a bizarre text conversation.

0039 Unknown number: "So how about that drink later on? X"
0628 Me: "....sounds intriguing...!"
0629 Me "But I'm busy tonight....sorry"
0630 Me "Besides I have no idea who you are!!!"
0729 Unknown number: "You gave me your number last night?"
0746 Me: "I was in all last night- sorry!"
0801 Unknown number: "Oh, so sorry. My mistake"
0818 Me: "No worries...!"
0901 Unknown number: "Might seem a little random, but are you a guy or a girl?"

The last line was comic genius. And obviously a guy. So I let it drop there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.