Burnt offering.

I have shared triumphs on blip so I must share disasters as well. Inspired by the ginger biscuits made on the Great Comic Relief Bake Off I found Paul Hollywood's mother's recipe on the internet.

I followed the recipe carefully but found that the dough was too runny and sticky. Adding more flour brought the dough into a workable form and I was able to put the biscuits I the oven.

Then I made the mistake, I misread the time required as 30 minutes (it actually said "makes 30 biscuits) rather than 10-12 minutes. When I went to look, they were smoking!

Fortunately I had a bit of dough left over so was able to bake 4 proper biscuits!

Booked a short break in Amsterdam for my 60th birthday. We wanted to go by train but you can't book more than 3 months in advance and a trial booking for the end of March gave a return fare of over twice the cost of flying. What a shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.