PeterMay

By PeterMay

City of.... lampshades

Wandering up a backstreet around the corner from our Paris hotel today we noticed these oversized lampshades floating above our heads. No idea why they were there - maybe trying to light the sky as well as heat it.

This was my second last day of a tour that seems to have lasted an eternity. Lunch with good friends, emails and phone calls in the afternoon, then my event at a bookstore in the 13th arrondissement. To my astonishment we arrived to a tumultuous welcome, with the owners rushing into the street to shake our hands and welcome us in. A large crowd was already gathered, and after more handshaking I sat down to sign - for one hour and fifty minutes, without once raising my head.

What an extraordinarily warm welcome from incredibly enthusiastic readers. Raises the spirits of this tired old writer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.