Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

I am the River

Geology, geography and climate have been the major factors which have shaped the land through which I flow.  Yet, I and I alone have had a major impact on the land and the humans that live there.

My waters begin as freshly fallen snow and rain upon the Sierra Nevada mountains.  My waters form the awesome and beautiful Lake Tahoe.  My waters are pure, clear and clean, so clear that humans can view a small white disk at over 100 feet.     And my waters provide home and haven for dozens of fresh water fish species including the mighty Lahontan cutthroat trout.  My waters gather in Lake Tahoe, then rush out through the northwestern edge of the basin into the beautiful canyon that I formed.  I flow north towards the human city of Truckee where I then turn to the northeast, then to the east, where I descend out of the Sierra Mountains and down into another human city called Reno.   Through Reno and its sister city of Sparks, I flow eastward then northward for another 55 miles to where my waters coalesce again in Pyramid Lake.  There I rest.  

There have been many humans impacted by my waters.  I supplied life and sustenance for the early Native Americans.  Famous explorers including John C. Fremont, followed my waters to Lake Tahoe.  And settlers, including the tragic Donner party, gathered at the base of the mountains, and followed my waters up into the mountains to Donner Pass and to their death.  Hoards of gold seekers traipsed through my waters as the California gold rush fueled the lust for gold.  And farmers, cattle ranchers, and modern day industry still use my waters today to grow crops, water livestock and fuel the Nevada economy.  I am a source of joy and recreation to the humans as well.  Their watercraft are always plying my waters at Lake Tahoe and Pyramid Lake, and their canoes, rafts and kayaks float down my river during the warmer months.  In Reno, the humans diverted a small portion of me to build a special kayaking section.  Fisherman love my waters to try their hands at capturing my many fish species and bird and wildlife watchers and photographers marvel at the variety of species that make their home near me.  I am a critical and intrinsic part of everyday life in both Nevada and California.

Yet, I have not always been placid and serene as you see here.  I have thunderously flooded my banks many times, inundating Truckee, Reno and Sparks.  I have caused widespread damage to human habitation throughout their history of settlement along my mighty banks. It is my reminder of their hubris, lest they forget that I am a wild and untamed inspiration of the Creator.    

I am the Truckee River.


THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU for all of your wonderful comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's MOLTEN LAVA blip.  It made the spotlight for a short while.  You are all the best!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.