WorldLens

By worldlens

Three Months and Counting

It's almost been three months since the protests began. Things have changed, progressed, seemed to improve and then worsen again. Now it's just normal. There's places we try to avoid (like here.) I had to get to another part of the city and this was in my path, but I passed through as quickly as possible.

You can see the tent in the background. The streets in this area of downtown are blocked off and people have filled them with tents to sleep, day and night. Other parts of the streets have large shade tents where people are just sitting in the street. Vendors have set up tables to sell food, drinks, Thai flag patterned souvenirs, shirts that support the protest, and anything else they think they can sell. Large groups parade down the street like this, with loud speakers to shout their opinions and whistles to announce their arrival.

Generally my friends and I just find other places to hangout. We stay on the outskirts of the city, where everything looks quiet and peaceful.

I just realized I missed a backblip from my trip to the Children's Home. Here's my face being painted, Karen style.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.