Probably my favourite photo for ages

It might not look very much but this is the best thing I have seen for a very very long time.

I long wondered about writing here about losing something, but decided against it in the unlikely event that I would find that something again. Time is so often against me, and everyone else come to that, but somewhere along the line I made a bit of a mistake. The somewhere is more a rough date, Septemberish. In our house as I have probably often said before, we rarely lose things, he says touching wood (a wooden spoon if you are interested), but we frequently misplace them. In fact over the years I think I have never lost anything really vital, left wallet once in a cafe in 1987, dropped keys in the street only to find they had been handed in to the police station 1989, never lost a mobile phone.

Therefore imagine my surprise when I lost/could no longer locate my wedding ring. I frequently take it off, for instance when washing dishes or doing manual tasks and more often than not, it goes in a pocket to be retrieved after a short time. But it was not there, not at my bedside, not in my pockets, not in my room, not in other random places where I looked. And look I did, several times without any luck. I obviously felt extremely bad about this, if oyu can't keep an eye on a ring then what do you keep an eye on.

For a couple of weeks I have been meaning to remove large accumulations of fluff from the tumble dryer, which has been in overspin recently given the amazing weather. This morning I had 10 minutes to get a piece of garden bamboo and try to remove said fluff. After five minutes and several fruitless attempts to remove the contents of the filter compartment, I managed to budge a large clump and well, instantly this is what I saw and I knew that after the months of worrying about getting another ring or not, I gave myself 12 months to do so, I wouldn't need to bother.

I jumped for joy, well on my own as the #1son had a bit of a tantrum. Anyone walking past outside must have wondered what was going on and will no doubt have contacted the authorities. This has been one of the best days for such a long time, and from now on, the ring stays on.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.