Grimsayer

By Grimsayer

Back to Baleshare

Whilst still windy and cold it has been a half decent day with some sun mixed in with hail and rain. I spent almost three hours wandering around Baleshare. Looking at the waves pounding on the beach you can see why coastal erosion is such an issue. A charity called SHAPE is trying to catalogue all the archaeological sites that are vulnerable to such erosion and part of what I did today was to monitor some of those sites.
It surprises me that, although it is a relatively small island I have visited a lot, there are still several corners that I haven't been to. Today was the coast to the East of Iolaraigh - Illeray for those with an English map - where there were a variety of cairns and field markers as well as a White-tailed Eagle and a flock of 400 Bar-tailed Godwits, all of which I wouldn't have seen if I had stayed in the car.
Back at the ranch, the forest continues to grow although planting seems destined to carry on for a few days yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.