Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

....... a Neil Gunn view.

I went to the vet's with Dimairt after school tonight, and he was impressed at how well he is looking; he is to have an x ray next week to get the full 'picture'. Exit one relieved owner.
On the way home from Dingwall, I passed the sign for the Neil Gunn Memorial. It was such a lovely evening, I thought I would revisit an old haunt. I used to make a point of going up the steep hill which sits between Dingwall and Strathpeffer to pay respect to one of my favourite authors. I haven't been there for years.
I forgot how beautiful the setting is; there is a beautiful tryst gate leading to a standing stone which is surrounded by Caithness stones carved with images from Gunn's books, including Pictish and Celtic symbols as well as characters from his books. My favourite - "The Green Isle of the Green Deep" - is heavily featured in the quotations which are carved on the natural stone -
"A wise man will give the best he can distil with the finest grace when he gives freely & without reward"
"For at the end of the day what's all the bother about? Simply, about how we are to live with one another, on the old earth"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.