Electric Avenue from Bloedel Donovan Park

We started the day with a trip to a local antique shop that has some of our things on sale. We hadn't heard whether they had sold something, so we stopped by. The owner, Jeff, wasn't there so the fellow there suggested we call on Monday. As we were leaving, Jeff and Nancy, his wife who runs the fine used furniture and household things store next door, arrived. Even though they usually don't come in on Saturday, there they were. Jeff said he had sold some of our stuff. He preceded to get the info for us and to write a very nice check. Yahoo! We talked quite a while and I discovered that the man behind the desk (not Jeff) was somebody I had recorded a radio ad with. We spent some time talking about the old days when our local NPR radio station had been based in Bellingham and I had been a volunteer host. I had a number of classical music shows that ended when the station was bought by an eastern Washington university and they closed the local broadcast station. At the time I was not happy. Now I wouldn't have time to host a show if I wanted to.

Next we went to Village Books and picked up one Arvin had ordered and I used my birthday discount card to buy one too. I got the Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd. I loved her The Secret Life of Bees and figured this one might be a good read too. Then we went upstairs so I could get my free coffee too. I upgraded to an espresso and Arvin and I shared a small quiche.

As we headed home, we stopped at the local coop where we bought some groceries. Then we stopped at the credit union to deposit the check from the antique store. Nice! Into the savings it went.

When we got home I decided to walk down to the park. I took this photo from Bloedel Donovan Park facing the street. Take a look at the large version.

when I got home I spent some time on the computer and then made dinner. Mostly we had left overs with some salad.

We are having a quiet night tonight. Both of my brothers and Dave's family are away for the weekend. So it's just us. Not at all bad really. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.