Practice Makes..

...A little bit better.

Following on from our off camera flash course yesterday it was time to put into practice a little of what we learnt. So I set up my flash in a corner of a room, and had a bit of a play.

Things I learnt

1) I need a taller, more useful stand for my flash. Get it a bit further away and higher for a little more spill of light
2) I need a more co-operative model. I wanted catchlights in his eyes, but there was a limit. This was picture 3 of 3 that I was allowed.
3) The proximity of the flash required me to bounce it off the ceiling, to remove the harsh drop off and a strong shadow on Oliver's chest, and keep detail in his shirt. It also ensured I had no shadow on the wall that was perhaps 30cm behind him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.