Licensed to Chill

By 007Roo

Smile though your heart is breaking.

Thank you firstly to all my blip friends you are helping me through a very dark time, i would also like to say thank you to my long suffering pal who kindly stepped in for me yesterday, ive realised that i have been blessed with very good friends and although i dont often show it i do appreciate it.

Yesterday, I lost a best friend, id always said i had 3 best friends, my girlie best friend who I've known for a long time, my Roo who is always there for me and my dad, dad was more like a friend than anything, we had a similar sense of humour, we loved sport , travelling and nights out drinking pints, dad was the biggest flirt going and enjoyed chatting up the ladies, in fact I've just spoke on the phone to one of dads oldest friends who told me that when dad played football professionally the wages weren't high so he took up engineering when asked at a later date why he didnt stay playing he said he didnt get to meet girls!!!!!!A little different to these days!!

i last saw dad on Friday evening i told him that Manchester Utd were having the worst season in history but that Manchester City were on top form, he gave me the biggest smile ever you see he was a City player.

Deep down though his loyalties lay with Bolton Wanderers as he grew up in Bolton and trained on Burnden Park Boltons old ground.

A couple of years ago i took dad to Coventry Citys ground for a meal and a tour of the stadium and dressing rooms, we ate first and then i organised for a wheelchair so we could take a trip round. Dad with his humour said " this is like taking coals to Newcastle, ive seen loads of football stadiums why do i want to do this?"

As we got to the tunnel and i pushed him closer to the pitch he looked at me with tears in his eyes and said, "i want to pull my strip on and get out there".

I have today chosen the song i want to be played at the funeral, along with Frank Sinatras My Way because dad did do everything his way, ive chosen Smile first sung by Charlie Chaplin.

Tomorrow is a busy day, my dogs know somethings up and they are a great comfort to me....

Thank you all once again and thank you P your my angel.x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.