An Odyssey.

By boniverful

Marty.

26 January 1531 - Lisbon is hit by a devestating earthquake.
- Remaining days: 339

I found a little paper in my bedside cabinet. I totally forgot about the fact that I still had an invitation for the retrospective exhibition 'Martin Scorsese' - one of the greatest directors of all time - which is organised by the Filmfestival Ghent on the occasion of its fortieth anniversary and this year's focus on American Independent Cinema and luckily went on the last day.

Not only does the exhibition honours the master-director Martin Scorsese but also Scorsese the film buff and his encyclopaedic knowledge of film history, which explains his important role in restoring classics and drawing attention to the directors that inspired him.

It made me literally want to lock my room and watch his entire filmography.

It was held in the magnificent 'Caermersklooster' in Ghent which is a former monastery of the Carmelites. There is also a ongoing exhibition on 'The Lamb of God' which is certainly worth to pay a visit.

- Recommendation: My personal list of films I've been honoured with to see as a jury member for the youth parcour 'ExploreZone' and outside the selection. This recommendation needs to be seen as a personal reminder of a great time and experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.