Rock recovered

Have spent a great chunk of the day recovering files from a drive that failed. It wasn't registering on either windows machines or my Mac - it was an NTFS drive used originally on my old Windows7 laptop and contain some important images from 2012. I know I had most of them as they had been backed up to my NAS, but, of course, I couldn't be sure I'd got everything. Some of the images I couldn't link back in the Lightroom lists which caused some concern.

A bit of sleuthing and I copied most of the files from the period the disk was in use over from the NAS to another attached USB drive and from there back to a more recent HD.

A bit more tinkering and I got back into the failed drive and managed to get all the images copied over to another drive also.

So, to show it was worth while, I revisited an image from an LPH holiday back in Feb 2012 that was on the drive and have given it the works to get something out of it. Ok, the image wasn't taken today, but all the work to get it has been. I hope you'll forgive me this but I feel far better tonight about the situation than I did this morning.

Before doing all this Tilly and I got soaked this morning in the rain. I also managed a short stint on the rower - several miles walked and rowed. Neither activity gave any opportunity to break out a camera, besides, much of the time was taken on planning what to do with the disk. The plan - copy what you've got (onto different HDs) and then attack the broken drive. It worked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.