Den Haag 2: Walk A Million Miles

After a leisurely breakfast and post food intake room rest reading, I spent nearly five hours exploring the Hague whilst the two students I came with yesterday spent a day involved in training groups as Committee Chairs for the conference.  I think I got the better deal.  In fact, I think I must have walked almost all of the Hague, taking lots of photos as I walked - the architecture here is so interesting - a real mix of ancient and modern, some of which I saw last year, and some of which was new to me.  Mid-afternoon had a happy time on the English tour of the old C16th Prison Gate Museum, The Gevangenpoort. "Since 1882, the mediaeval prison has operated as a museum. It lies on the Hofvijver, close to the Binnenhof in The Hague."  (More here and here) in all its gruesome details - and then a lighter tour of the  Prince William Art Gallery which had a Caravaggio amongst lot of street scenes and chubby cheeks (Rubens).  After wandering some more, as the already cold and windy day deteriorated, I wound up in a very nice place for what was frankly a scrumptious late lunch salad with walnuts, pomegranate, pears, various green leaves and other taste sensations  in a light balsamic vinegar.  Simply delicious. Back at the hotel our 19 other students had arrived along with my colleague-partner chaperone.  Various discussions later, around 7pm I went out again for a meal - this time a very tasty vegetarian quiche with asparagus on the side and an awfully good glass of Chardonnay - oh I do so miss decent wine in Istanbul !  Rest of the evening was spent in the hotel foyer keeping an eye on the students who were all sorting out their speeches for the conference opening ceremony tomorrow.  Early start in the morning, herding the kids out by 8.15am …


It's not the 7ºC that bothered me so much as the 20mph winds - inspite of several layers I really was quite chilled today - and then when the rain started .... well.  Just because I am English, doesn't mean I have to like it !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.