SueScape

By SueScape

The old cells ....

Walked into Midhurst for some fresh veggies, the sun shone. Stopped on the way home at Gartons Tea Shop, once the Old Town Hall. I feel sure I’ve blipped the old cells before. They open into the tea shop, and though used as storerooms now, they still have the original doors which the waitress assures me date back to 1610. The building around them dates only to the early 19th century. She showed me inside one of the cells, I guess about 6 feet long by the width of this door. Only a sink in one corner. It must have been cold and damp and very dreary to be locked up in there. In Large, you might even get a glimpse of the contents of the storeroom.

Gartons is located in the old market square. It’s said that eventually everyone meets everyone else there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.