Snapdecisions

By HF1

"Aah- a bit of the Black Cointry"

I had to pop to Shaftesbury to buy some buttons for the crochet I'd finished and I was going to photograph the classic shot of Gold Hill but as I was taking photos this couple were doing a little video on their phone and my ears pricked up at the Black Country accents which always remind me of growing up in the Midlands.
The guy was pointing to the manhole cover as his wife recorded him saying in a broad accent
" Youm always foind abit of the Black Cointry wherever yaum are auh !........"
I chatted to them saying that Iwas from Bewdley originally - ' oh that's posh they said ..!' They were from Cradley Heath which was named as the origin of the manhole cover on it! My Dad used to be able to speak the varying accents of the different places around there ---Craadeleey -----Dudleeey....up the Bank.....as a little party piece!
The couple were going to post their offering on Facebook - I requested a Blipfoto!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.