Allt Utha

We were working at a mountain side burn near Glenfinnan today. It would have been very convenient to have been able to step across this river to get to the other side but it was absolutely raging. In such conditions the only way to get across is to return to the main road way below and cross by the road bridge and re-ascend to get to a point you were looking at an hour earlier.
I elected not to do this today. We will be working near the road bridge in the morning and I will just walk up first thing.

Forgot to mention yesterday; at the start of the walk we had to cross the long estate road bridge over the River Arkaig. It has been recently refurbished with new timber railing and deck. The timber batons forming the deck are substantial but have 20mm gaps between them through which you see the river below. Caley finds this terrifying and I had to carry him over the bridge. It as a good 50m long and I was carrying him, wriggling nervously, in my arms in front of me. He weighs about 30 kilos and when I put him down I felt a twinge in my back.
It was right sore first thing this morning but thankfully freed up as I walked about the hillside today. Hopefully it will be all better in the morning.

Anyway; I liked the look of this tree growing out of a rock on the other side of the river; the one I couldn't cross.
More on flickr here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.