Kernow

By Kernow

Emergency Blip!!

Back to work today after two days off with Man Flu last week, not fully recovered but ok, plus my back has been playing up a little so really glad to get home from work. Anne had taken Danielle to dance lessons as she does on a Monday evening and I'd just prepared a meal ready to go in the oven when the phone rang. I'm just taking Danielle to A&E as she's complaining of severe chest pains. Ok, drop everything..."I'll meet you there".

Now, the local A&E is only about 3-4 miles away but the traffic, even at the tail-end of the rush hour, is pretty bad around the north of Bristol. By the time I get there they've been waiting 20 minutes or so and it's another 45 minutes before the nurse calls Danielle in.

After an initial examination she's moved to a bed where she waits for a heart monitor to take some readings, which are then passed to the doctor. We wait for the doctor's report by which time 2 hours have passed since their arrival. Good news, no problem but the doctor wanted to make a further assessment before deciding the next steps. Waiting. Then it's off to XRay. Waiting. Good news, no problem... phew.

The conclusion is that it's probably a viral infection, some pain killers will help and come back if it gets worse. 4 hours in total but great relief all round. I think the NHS are brilliant. They're doing a great job under substantial pressures and I don't mind the waiting really.

11:30, I'm off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.