TECHris

By TECHris

Samson

Closed and seemingly abandoned, this former inner-city junior high seems impossibly mute.

Several years ago the company I work for helped sponsor the implementation of this school's first computer lab via donations in kind including my labour. Later, technicians from our telecommunications department helped design and install a local area network for the entire building. This was one of the first school's with Internet access - cutting edge stuff in the mid-nineties!

Re-organization of the school system has closed the building and redistributed the students to other schools in the city. This school was a loud and boisterous place while I was helping setup the computer lab. So I am always a little shocked when I pass by and see it like this. Today the brilliant morning sun was full on the front facade so I stopped and took several pictures until my fingers went numb in the bitter cold.

Shot with a wide-angle ōlloclip lens. Then straightened, cropped, applied HDR and converted to black & white in Snapseed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.