M9

By M9

BRAVING THE COLD

It didn’t take long to fill two bird feeders this afternoon when it was 1 degree F, with a wind chill of -18, but by the time I finished, I thought my hands were frozen. Not a day to be outside if it wasn’t absolutely necessary. This downy woodpecker was the only live animal I saw when I had the chance to take pictures, so this is it for today.

My daughter left today after a wonderful four day visit. She surprised me by giving me her ‘old’ camera – which is far more advanced than the one I’m used to. I’m thrilled about the potential of having better quality photos, but I’m equally intimidated at all I have to learn in order to achieve that improvement! Please don’t look for better pictures in the near future! Maybe in a year? Or two? With my ‘new’ camera, I’m challenged to learn how to manually set the features – which is one of the main reasons I joined Blip in the first place. I admit to becoming complacent with good old ‘automatic’ – it’s so safe, but it’s time to move on. Wish me luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.