PurbeckDavid49

By PurbeckDavid49

Purbeck: fisherman at Wareham Quay

I don't know what he was hoping to catch, if anything.

A few decades ago, salmon from the Wareham River could be bought in the town, smoked by the town's fishmonger - but today there is no fishmonger and no salmon.

The river has been as high as this for several weeks now, coping with the high volumes of water coming downstream. The river is tidal here and for another mile or so upstream, but with this amount of water the tides probably produce no effect on water levels here.

The dome of Creech Barrow (seen in yesterday's blip) pierces the skyline at the right of the photo.


I have had to resort to HDR once more to control the bright reflections and dark areas of the image; an irritating sign was removed digitally, and my photographing almost directly into the sun generated some bright reflection artifacts which I have done my best to remove.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.