Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Wee Donegal...

In 1999 I was asked to go in and manage the takeover of a NW England radio station. No problem. On the day I started - 24 hours later - I was advised that there was another business in the group that needed attention and it was in Northern Ireland, Belfast to be precise. And so began a two year love affair with the City, it's people and the surrounding countryside. Belfast Citybeat was a jewel, a station full of promise and talent. I loved it.

In the early days I spent a few weekends over in Donegal and used my time to visit the sites of the "Wee Donegal", a long gone steam and diesel railcar railway running through some fantastic scenery. One day I'll model some of the line and to that end I've bought books and guides and made other visits.

Today's 'collection' Blip is one of a small collection of tickets from the old railway. What grand journeys they must have been. Exotic places like Stranorlar, Ballyshannon, Killybegs, Clar Bridge, Glenmaquin and so on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.