spiderlily

By spiderlily

Present to a special star

May 4th last year my mum passed away, pancreatic cancer stole her from us. Today is her birthday and even though she is not her in person, she will always be with us in our hearts so me and little one decided to celebrate her.

A few years ago my son asked me what happens to us when we die and since I have no beliefs I didnt know what to say at first. Seems a bit harsh to say to a three year old; Well, thats it! You die and thats it, game over.
So I told him to look at all the stars and I said that when we die we become stars in the sky to light up and guide everyone on earth. That way people that we have loved and lost are watching over us and we can always talk to them.
Today on my mums birthday kurgan asked me how we would get a present to her. So we went and bought a sky lantern. It would rise to the stars and mum would get it. Now when we went out it was to windy. I could see my sons eyes fill up with tears and I leaned forward, as the sky lantern followed the wind and I tried my best to control it, and said: Its granny playing with her present.
When we walked back I saw this graffiti on a wall and it is really how I feel today. Sad and missing my mum...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.