todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Common ground

My employer runs a mentoring initiative where adults are chosen to link up with a young person who could use someone friendly, non-judgemental and without agenda to take an interest in them.

Having signed up, keen to play my part, I was linked with a 15 year old girl "who doesn't talk much" I was told. We had our first meeting this afternoon. She fidgeted and played with her hair and didn't look at me directly that much. I wonder if she knew, I was just as nervous but am well practised at hiding it.

They were right, she didn't talk much and my attempts at getting to know her were starting to feel like just another adult, prying into her business. It wasn't looking, or sounding good...

And then we discovered we share a love of cats. Her face lit up and my relief felt palpable.

I think she'll agree to meet me again. At least I hope she will. I'm excited about what the future might hold for us both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.