Partners

His best man at our wedding has a sense of humor that is healing for him and for us, no doubt. Recently, he began receiving Hospice services, and Mr. Contraptioneer and I met with him and his family and friends, along with the hospice staff today at lunch time. Mr. Best Man opened the meeting by saying, "we're here to meet about my imminent death, but we don't have a date". Everyone in the room sat silent, slightly stunned. And then he said, "I thought I should open us up with a little humor". To which his charming wife leaned forward and said, "what was that you said? I didn't hear you". It was priceless!

She is his partner to, and through, the end. We are their partners to, and through, the end. Mr. Contraptioneer is my partner to, and through, the end. I'm so grateful for deep and strong friendships. I'm grateful for excellent examples of partnership. Honoring one another right where we're at. Laughing at the joke regardless of how ridiculous it might seem sometimes.

The level of stress I have carried at work in the last two days (not my innkeeper work) has been far more than I could just shake off. I told my partner in life about my concern regarding how long my muscles could handle being like tight rubber bands without becoming fragile. He suggested that the way to keep rubber bands from wearing out was to put them in water. So we went to the pool after work and went swimming. Then we sat and ate a small bit and relaxed. I'm much improved, thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.