TedDavisFAP

By TedDavisFAP

Grand Lightening

A thunderstorm on the rim of the Grand Canyon just before sunset. The wind was whipping through the Canyon, sheets of rain were cutting in and between the canyons walls above the great Colorado river. I'd been warned about lightening on the South Rim of the Canyon - extremely dangerous and unpredictable. But I just couldn't pass up this opportunity! With a rain jacket covering my camera, and a long focus on the setting sun, I snapped picture after picture hoping to get just one with a lightening strike. Finally I did - and perfectly framed by the setting sun. I couldn't have hoped for more dramatic clouds, sheets of rain moving in to the frame, or the rays of the sun cutting through the canyon. This is Mother Nature as her most powerful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.