It's all about appearances

The morning walk to my pick-up point at the Grand Mall now has the added complication of trying to avoid a student who manages to irritate me with very little effort (added to the fact he has one of those faces you just want to punch). Today our paths crossed with more than eight minutes walk remaining. Luckily, I had left my mobile back at the flat so I went back to get it with the new knowledge that if I leave at 7:35am, I will miss any further happenstances. As it happens, I couldn't be arsed to go back up the four flights so just backtracked until he'd gone and then wandered a little slower up the road taking a few shots. I've been purposely trying to emulate a favourite blipper of mine with the last couple of shots. I wonder if you can guess who it is.

Very little progress has been made work-wise with the small exception of my colleagues slowly (but grudgingly) accepting that it's in their best interests to listen to what I ask of them if they don't want to be working in a complete shambles for the foreseeable future. The real boss spends his day walking around with a bit of paper filled with the many tasks I have assigned him and is more than happy with this approach. Once everything is set-up and running smoothly (which I am trying to convince myself will happen), I am hoping that my efforts will be rewarded with a bit more pay and a job title that sounds reasonably important.

I will leave you with a conversation I had with a student today:

Student: You are Muslim?
Me: No.
Student: You are Christian?
Me: No.
Student: What are you?

What am I indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.