Nikael

By Nikael

Suomalainen sisu

Today I had to hold a teenage boy down on the grown with the help of two co-workers, till the boy had calmed down after several attacks towards us.
On new years eve I had to go to the emergency room and have my head checked after a hard hit against a stone wall.
I am twenty-three and I already have a profession, and I'm working as an occupational therapy at two work places; also as an freelancer.
I have moved twelve times in my life, and I have lived in three different cities.
I have had a really hard seven-years lasting on-off relationship, and have wished for death seriously, two times.
My father has been a very demanding parent, and I have been told as a teenager that my life will be hard because I am not an easy person.
My parents have divorced when I was seven-years-old, and I lost the connection to my brother as me and my mom moved away.
I have experienced a lot, a lot more than I can remember.

Life have been tough and hard, but I have survived. Thanks to a caring mom and good friends I have been able to grow from the challenges, not shrink. I think I have it what they call here in Finland Sisu. It could be translated to strength, but it is an unique word. Some of us are born with a lot of Sisu, and some have to learn how to find it and use it. I think that I have now learned how to use my Sisu..

Here is an article for them who understand Finnish:
http://www.hs.fi/kotimaa/a1305552518202?jako=fbb26ba6265e617ac4c2114fc3d21b82&ref=og-url

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.