LuvU2

By LuvU2

The Crowned Lapwing (Vanellus coronatus)

I seem to take a few shots of them every day, but there is always something else to blip! Today was one of the very few times I could shoot him in full flight! They are só fast, it is almost impossible for me!

They are making such a noise when you approach their nesting place! They lay their eggs on the ground and always try to chase me away or mislead me, by making big noise far away from the nest, to distract me! The female very often sits dead quiet on the ground, very well camouflaged, while the male flies all around you, making the most horrible loud screeching sounds.

M&Z, here is a link to the Andrew Motel, although the name was changed to Pyramids Motel, at Van Reenen in the Drakensberg Mountains, en route to Durban.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.