Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The world around us makes me feel so small

So today was fun. The sky a brilliant blaze at the end of it which I saw from my office desk and rushed out to grab the boys. Will they get that same sense of awe upon seeing this, or look away. Reuben stayed but a short while and Callum was more interested in seeing his pal across the road.

In other news, permission requested to let out a little scream. OK done. I had a feature in the Los Angeles Times from my Blip last week as the reader's image of the day. Callum, caught like a bare naked baby in the bathtub.

Reuben returned from school telling me about his two "baskets". On the walk back to car, a new first grader looked at Reuben and asked,

"What's his name?"
"Reuben" I replied, walking alongside his mum.
"What's that thing on his head?"
"That's his hearing aid" I replied.
"And what's that on his neck?"
"That's the hole from his tracheostomy. You can ask him about it".
"And the thing on his.. there..." pointing to his chest.
"That's the scar from his heart surgery".
"And why is his neck like that?" and he held Reuben's head continuing,
"Can I straighten it up?".
"The kids didn't throw the ball to him".
"Ah, well, maybe you can help him out a little with basketball next time. And Reuben can help you with your reading. He's a great reader".
"Ooh" chimed in his mum, "That sounds like a good plan doesn't it M".

Because we live in circles where we're now familiar, the times when such conversations come up and now rarer. But it takes me back to when answering these questions was a daily thing. At first, it hurt, then I came to understand that kids are naturally curiously and once they had answers, they'd reply, "OK" or "that's awesome!" and move along to the next thing of interest in life.

Still. It brings me back...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.