OMP

By OMP

Chickadee Charmer

Oozing with charm.

I had my blip in the bag early this morning... or so I thought. A cute (and exceptionally hard to capture) little brown creeper spent tons of time on a tree near the house this morning. So I had ample opportunity to shoot image after image of the speedy little bugger. After 45 million images... at least one was bound to turn out. (Okay, that's an exaggeration... more like 43 million.) This tiny bird moves so fast and constantly it's hard to get him in focus. He's also the same color as the bark of the tree making photography really difficult. Anyway, I did get some shots that I was pleased with, but he ended up on Flickr (after a little post-processing so you'd be able to differentiate him from the tree trunk). Note: That broken branch is no bigger than my thumb.

Why after having a shot I liked would I take more images? Well, I just happened to have my camera on me when I took the trash up the hill to the garage level. Who doesn't take their camera along when emptying the trash?? Of course, the chickadees were all over the area and I couldn't resist. Once loaded into the computer, I realized that this shot was my favorite for the day and the creeper got bumped. Tough choice as the creeper shot is a rare one, but just look at this guy... how could I pass on that face??

It was a weird day for me with my back acting up again and my finger useless... It's a wonder that I got much done and I'm not sure how I even operated the camera. Awkward is the word that comes to mind. :-/ But otherwise it was a good day, cozy and quiet but good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.