Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Perfect

I love these images. It was such a perfect day. Warm and still. We made camp by the lake and picniced on saucisson sec, cornichons, comté, baguette and sweet juicy peaches. We swam and watched the dragonflys and dozed on the blanket. Somehow though, it was all about Mum. Having been poorly for so long, it was wonderful to see her so carefree. She couldn't get in the canoe quickly enough, like the cat who had got the cream, smiling the whole time. It made my heart swell. Her regal waving and reluctance to finish. She embraced it all. I will never forget it, it made me so happy.

On the way back to our gîte we stopped in Cléron. Nick, Kards and the children went in search of ice-creams whilst Mum and I went to the château. My grandmother was very young when she fell pregnant with my mother and as a result her family refused to feed her. The family living in the château heard about this and provided my grandmother with one meal a day. I don't think she was ever allowed inside, she walked to the gates, received her food and then made her way home.

We ate Saucisse de Morteau in the evening, all of us sitting around the beautiful wooden table outside. We were in high spirits and played silly games. Chinese whispers had Mum and I laughing so hard we were clutching each other for support. When we finally went to bed, I fell asleep to the sound of crickets and the faintest breeze lifting the curtains.

(And yes, Kards, I was less than charitable about you bringing the canoe, but you were right. It was fun. A lot of fun.)




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.