Back and Forth thru time

By pingufivemins

Money

Evening all.

"Self Assessment- because tax doesn't have to be taxing"

was how the legend used to run in all the years I didn't have to fill in a tax return, usually voiced by a fluffy newsreader with comforting tones.

This year, as I have been requested by Her Majesty's legalised vampires to join the growing band of people paying money to the treasury, the tone seems to have become somewhat darker and sinister, running along the lines of a gruff, authoritarian voice demanding

"tax: Pay what you owe!"

suggesting if you do not, the wallopers will be around to brick your windows and key the side of your car, whilst giving aggressive Chinese burns to your nearest and dearest.

So, after much hoohah and confusion,( including a letter from the tax office to my address, to notify me they didn't have my address!), I have filled my self assessment tax form in.

Now, I will grant you, it is probably not my best attempt at filling forms in, and I suspect my combination of creative accountancy and guesswork may cause people some significant scratching of heads and sharpening of pencils at tax HQ.

Fortunately for them, I think I've sent it to the wrong address anyway, which will save them from being overworked and stressed at this difficult time of year.

Oddly enough, I feel cleansed and pure by this whole altruistic experience and frankly, I don't see what Ken Dodd made all the fuss about!

night all


Pink Floyd

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.