Malayalam homework

This is my homework for the day. Sona wrote all this out for me to learn. Oh such a lot in a way and yet there is pattern to it. The interesting thing about this language is that there is a symbol for every exact sound. It is said that someone from Kerala could speak any language in the world as they have all the sounds.. I am not sure if that is true. But what I have only just learnt is that every language in India is phonetic and so none of the confusion we get with the same letters sounding different in different contexts as we do in English .. so each sound here has an attached accent - a password Sona calls it to create the sound difference.. so that m might ma or moo or maa .. some sounds differ only by the fact that the sound of the accent might last one a half times as long .. I have a long way to go but it does help me to know these principles. And we can now read the names of the buses. and I think next time I will be able to ask for the tickets to our local bus stop.. rather than gesticulating when we get there ... there are so many languages I would love to be able to speak fluently.. this is definitely one of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.