f/Stop f/Start again

By annewokingham

Hurray!!!! My 100th Blip

I would like to dedicate my 100th blip to my dear sister in law Annie. Any information here is already public as part of Annie's own journal so I am sure she will not mind me sharing her story with you.

I joined Blip last June as a way of keeping in touch with Annie, who suffered a stoke which overnight change her life, and also the lives of her family including her partner, my brother John. On New Year's Day Annie made the centre pages of the Daily Record telling her story of how Blip and Blippers help keep up her spirits in what has been a very difficult 8 months. I know that a few Blippers had met Annie in person, through Edinburgh Blipmeets, and continue to support her Journal, indeed visit her in hospital. As well as paralysis, one of the other consequences of Annie's stroke is that she lost her ability to spell. Annie was a great photographer, but now has to take all her photos with her left hand, mainly using her ipad. She get's a bit of help with publishing her entries, but personally manages a short comment on the Blippers photos that she follows. As advised on her own Blip a few days ago, Annie is shortly to move from hospital into a carehome, but with the purchase of a new wheelchair car, will also manage home visits and outings. I know Annie will be looking forward to having much more choice for her future Blips, and am full of admiration for her that she continued her Blip almost every day since she has been hospitalised. I had a laugh the other day when my brother told me about the reaction of the carehome staff when he and Annie were discussing her needs and top of her list was broadband in her room. Wouldn't it be great if Annie was able to get a Blip group started in her new home.

So, although I joined Blip as a way of keeping in touch with Annie, and loaded up an occasional photo, I did NOT expect to become a Blip addict myself....... but it's definitely catching! My plan this morning was to go a Pilates Class which I have been meaning to go to for weeks now. I did go, only to discover that the teacher was unable to come today. So, I came home and spent the next 2 hours faffing around trying to think of what on earth I could do for my 100th Blip, since it seems to be an expectation that I should make some kind of special effort.

I hope that a few of you notice it amongst the thousands of other photos which will be posted today. Happy blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.