cooking school

My mate S, who introduced me to Myanmar food some years ago, finds a cooking class whenever she travels. So following in her footsteps I found one here in Yangon.
The best laid plans and all that! So arriving at The Governor's Residence (THE duck's nuts of Yangon hotels away from the city chaos in leafy Embassy land) not only am I not on the list there is no class scheduled for the day!
But all shall be well and at super short notice a class is arranged just for me!!

First it is off to the market with Ms Fixit Me Me and a fascinating hour at the local 'wet' market...fish,eels, chickens, quail eggs, preserved eggs, tamarind fruit and leaves, herbs and vegetables, teas, rice, sour plums and so much more.
Then tea at a tea house and back to this set up at the GR!

Learned to make fermented ginger salad, tamarind sauce, green papaya salad and rice paper spring rolls and then there was fish curry lunch!
Miguel, the manager took this photo, then took me on journey through Myanmar (yes!) wine.

Five hours later and yet another magical day :)




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.