Woodpeckers just before having a cuppa

I have removed my first picture for this much better one of Woodpeckers, because I should have posted it in the first place. We have just got back from the cinema.

This is what I wrote for the first picture, however ......

I should be doing other things, but I am procrastinating again. When Woodpeckers came home we had a snack lunch together and watched the birds rather desperately feeding from our sunflower supplies. There were blackbirds, robins, blue tits, great tits, goldfinches, a siskin and a nuthatch. I pointed out to her a new woodpecker's nest hole on the sycamore at the bottom of the garden, which hopefully will have little green woodies poking their noses out whilst waiting for their parents to feed them, as they did last spring.

There is a thick mist enveloping the valley and any chance of an outdoor blip had gone, so I moved the pot with the dormant amaryllis-type bulb into the spotlight. I had just noticed the green shoot popping up through the crinkly old leaf remnants on the top of the bulb, as well as a new off-shoot at the side of the pot. I added a bottle of very fine wine which I bought as a treat a few days ago, when I spotted this notable label at the wine merchant. I hope it lives up to expectations. I have waxed lyrically at previous vintages of it, so fingers are crossed. It isn't often I go beyond cheap bottles of wine. Even Helena noticed it. The avocado was lying on the kitchen surface so I brought it into the shot for added shape and colour.

I had thought about setting up a tripod and a lens extender to get a good close-up of the shoot, but I don't have the time. We are off to the cinema soon to see a National Theatre play, Coriolanus, streamed out into the sticks. I hope it is good. Perhaps we should take the bottle with us, as Helena often does, to add finesse to the occasion, as one would in the interval if it was a real theatre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.