FionaGo

By FionaGo

La Pasionaria

It was a lovely day in Glasgow today. I had a meeting at the Scottish Government offices on Atlantic Quay so I took my camera and walked along the river, playing with my new toy. I got a nice close-up of a young seagull, a terrible, out of focus photo of a group of seagulls (the boring flats across the river were in very sharp focus!), a squint shot of the arches under the George V bridge, some interesting street art, and this. Best of a bad batch. Oh well...

For those of you who don't know who this is, its a statue representing Dolores Ibarruri, (1895-1989), a Spanish communist who came to symbolise Republican resistance against fascism during the Spanish Civil War. It is dedicated to the men and women of our city and the rest of the UK who went to fight fascism.

People either seem to love it or hate it - I love it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.