The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Another fungi halfway up a tree...

For once it wasn't raining this afternoon after work so I went for a little trip to see what I could find to photograph.
Round the road from me there are several old Horse chestnut trees, and the buds are beginning to swell so I thought I might gets some pics of them, but while I was going round the tree looking for photogenic buds I noticed this beautiful fungus.
This is the third different type of fungi I have found growing on the bark of these trees (see 3rd and 22nd December 2013)! I think they must be getting very old.
I think this is probably Auricularia auricula-judae or Jew's ear, Wood ear or Jelly ear. It grows on both dead and living wood, and is common in the uk.
Poor trees

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.