Dung Beetle on Canvas

This is a canvas I had made of a shot of one of my favourite beetles - a dung beetle.

It was actually taken with my first digital camera - a Canon Powershot A540 compact. I still have it and use it at times when lugging around my DSLR isn't always possible or convenient.

We were on holiday in Exmoor and found many of these critters on a walk we were doing. I had struggled to get a decent shot as most of the beetles we saw were on the ground except this one. He was a mountaineering beetle and was clambering his way through the grass. So I didn't have to crawl on the floor to get a photo. The original shot was taken on 7th September 2010.

He now sits in our bathroom! Not the most obvious place for a beetle.

Yet another wonderful day for outside photos! Not!

We even had a flurry of sleety rain this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.