fleeting visions

By eyeGillian

Reaching

Has anyone seen the Wim Wenders film "Until the End of the World"? An extraordinary film even in the severely abridged 2 1/2-hr version (I hope to see the director's cut sometime), it has as one of its themes the realization that images we make of our own imaginings can become addictive. I'm probably not describing it well, but I find myself remembering the film and its portrayal of a kind of technology-enabled narcissism when I lose track of time while gazing at my photos while I choose, edit, and tinker with different settings.

I believe that photographs are even more powerful than films in the way that they can seem to stop time. Films come to an end, and we as audience are compelled then to get on with our lives. A still image, though, is always present, drawing you into its world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.