Can you Dig It...

This is Troot. Tonight he ticked something off my Life ToDo List. I've known him more than 20 years as he was one of my original skate buddies. He works in a quarry and has on occasion Facebook'd pictures of the machinery he drives as part of his job and I believe I have expressed jealousy regarding him getting to drive these sorts of things around.

He's offered me a tour of his work a couple of times but various conflicting things meant it never came off. Tonight I got that message.

It was brilliant. I was met at the car park and we took this digger up to the 'hole'. I was given a quick run down of how everything worked and got a shot of this magnificent machine. So much fun and weird having so much power at your finger tips hidden under very subtle push button and lever controls.

If that wasn't enough, we then headed back down to the plant and got the full tour where I learned how they take this raw material out of the earth, processed it and create sand that has been used to supplement Burntisland beach, fills golf course bunkers and most importantly, is transported to Alloa glass works to be turned into glasses and bottles.

I was chuffed as chips. Thanks Troot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.