0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"I’m an Archaeologist, not like Indiana Jones or anything - more restoration, preservation...I’m working up in Edinburgh Castle soon. They’re building a big barrier to stop rocks from falling on the cars and road, and a big trench in case they find any artifacts. They won’t, that place has been dug up so many times there’s nothing to find”

I'm usually very good with faces. I recognise someone who I've seen or met before, and almost certainly one of my portrait subjects. However, I could have sworn I had taken a photo of John before, or at least met him in some capacity. I even checked my past library and I couldn't find anything (unless I deleted it by mistake). With no evidence to prove otherwise, here he is for the first time.

When John told me he was an Archaeologist I got very excited. Maybe the vision of Indiana Jones popped in my head, or maybe I pictured him uncovering some new dinosaur bones in South America (and even that is not Archaeology really, but Paleontology). When he explained further it turned out that Archaeology is a lot more than chasing rare artifacts.

I asked him if he could disclose any exciting projects he'd worked on and he told me about his future work at Edinburgh Castle. In all my excitement I totally forgot to ask about his hat, which is the reason he caught my eye in the first place.

On an unrelated note, the Guardian's Month in Photography came out today and there are some great exhibitions around at the moment, should you wish to visit.

Have a great weekend everyone!


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.