Save our Rhinos

I am passionate about our wildlife and the poaching of rhinos is an on going tragedy. One feels helpless and desperate to help...but how? I have a shopping card which, every time it is swiped, a small portion goes to the Save a Rhino fund, and this shopping bag was another small contribution.
As long as the Eastern countries have the belief that rhino horn is a cancer cure and an aphrodisiac, we will have this problem.
On World Rhino Day last year a protest was held by young Vietnamese in Hanoi expressing the wish that "the hunters should become the rhinos and the rhinos should become the hunters" (Wild Magazine) . So there is a glimmer of hope as the awareness increases.
It is not a special Save the Rhino day today but for some reason as I packed my shopping items in this bag this afternoon I was acutely aware of these helpless creatures.
We can be grateful that there are many people dedicated to stamping out this huge poaching problem. I salute them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.