Milepost...

The weatherthis week has sucked away my enthusiasm for photography, through a combination of rain and lack of light. It's actually been quite enjoyable to stay indoors and sit at the computer writing reports.After one particularly dire day I had to spend some time looking through photographs from last summer, to remind myself that one day the weather will improve, the sun will come out and I won't be surrounded by grey clouds, mud and floodwater. However, an afternoon of marmalade making yesterday helped to raise my spirits!

Today Rosie and I just managed to sneak in a walk before the next wave of rain swept in. There was very little to see, and we walked a different route to try and avoid the worst of the mud and water. This took us past one of the Millennium Mileposts on the National Cycle Network. There are four different designs -this was the first post to be commissioned and was designed by John Mills. It's entitled The Fossil Tree and takes the form of an abstract tree with relief imagery of fossils depicting the passage of time from early primitive creatures to the ultimate demise of fossil fuel driven technology.It's worth a closer look.

I was excited to receive one of the 'When You're a Stranger' cameras this morning. It's had quite an adventure, starting off in California, and then circulating northern England before heading off to Melbourne, Australia. It then returned to England, before heading north to Scotland and then crossing the Atlantic to the New Jersey. It then went south to Texas, before arriving back in the UK for the New Year. There only seem to be one or two shots left, so it'll soon be winging it's way back to Blipfoto. I took it out with me on my dog walk, but the weather was so horrible that I didn't see anyone else!! Still, at least I've got something to aim for this weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.