Almost the weekend

Had to resort to shots around the college again today. Thankfully there's a mini exhibition opened for charity. It's all postcard size pieces. There were some students up having a look at it when I popped by to visit.

After work we had dinner at Gurkha Brigade (thanks Sally) then headed to the cinema.

I really enjoyed Dr. Parnassus. It might not be everyone's cup of tea as it would certainly fall into the category of fantasy film. Not fantasy in the sense of Lord of the rings or soemthing cheesier like Neverending story, but that sort of dark fantasy that Gilliam does very well. As you'd expect from Gilliam the magim mirror sequences were beautifully done.

I wasn't disappointed by Tom Waits performance I thought he was excellently cast as the devil. The bit that did surprise me was Lily Cole who I thought was very good and well cast as well. I'd presumed that, as a model, she'd probably lack talent for acting, but I was wrong.

The story was good too in my opinion, I'd heard some reports tthat it was a bit confusing, particularly because the parts where Ledgers character went through the magic mirror were filmed after his death with Johnny Depp, Jude Law and Colin Farrell playing his role. I found it easy enough to follow though and thought the extra actors added to it.

Overall I'd say it's well worth a watch and it's visually impressive enough to warrant a trip to the cinema to see it rather than just waiting for the DVD.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.