IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Horrible Day

The day started well enough ... the best bit was in Peterborough. Cold and windy, but fine.

The nightmare started when I tried to pick up my wife from the local train station. What should have been a 15-20 min journey turned into one and a half hours. The drivers around here are lunatics. There are accidents every day. The problem is .... if a road is closed off in the Fens, it can be really difficult to find an alternative route. I was turned away by police and forced to drive down a very long dark country lane for miles and miles in torrential rain. I knew I was heading in the opposite direction from which I wanted to go in, and for the life of me, I just could not imagine where there would be a turn off for my destination. I finally knocked on some lady's door and begged for directions (she was not keen to open her door to me and I can totally understand why).

I got stuck behind a lorry for nearly 20 mins. He was trying to pass another lorry coming towards him .... on a single track country road. It was near impossible for them to pass each other side by side. The EXTREMELY annoying thing was, that there WERE passing places very close by where if one of them had waited, the other COULD SO EASILY have passed the other, but oh no .... that is not how we drive around here. Every *&^*&^*&^ for himself down here.

Finally I got to pick up my wife and by then, the roads were clear. Not that the local radio station (Radio Cambridgeshire) could be bothered to tell you that the roads were no longer blocked. I very nearly took the same nightmarish road back home.

Stay calm ..... all is well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.