River Roy

I see people on blip saying, here I used my 25 stop ND filter, or my tobacco graduated, or my circular polariser, gel etc. In Lochaber its simple you need one with wipers. I started messing about in PS trying to sort it but it just gets ridiculous after a while. I know there are drips on this but I’m afraid they are staying.
I really needed to get going at the desk this morning and missed the dog walk. Come late afternoon I still needed fresh air and the weather has gone to pot. I took Caley, with his ball and flinger, up Glen Roy. We stopped and walked over a broad flood plain. The wind and driving rain were really ferocious. You launched the ball and you could see it changing direction mid flight as a gust hit it.
A curious recurring comment I see on many of my work blips in the hills is that the viewer thinks the scene looks cold. Perhaps it’s because we are walking quite swiftly but generally these places never feel cold at all. Forget that tonight. The air temperature was may be plus two but combined with the wind and driving rain it felt really bitter. On one of the wind induced errant ball flings it veered sideways bounced on a rock on the bank and then right in to the river. Caley waded after it then when the water got deeper continued to swim for his favourite ball.
You may be thinking why isn’t the river higher with the rain? Simple, most of the water is landing on the catchment as snow and isn’t going any place for the time being.
After his wade and swim I was really concerned that Caley may have got really chilled, coming out of the water in to the icy gales, so we headed back to the car and he was still wanting to run madly after the ball and seemed perfectly happy.
Anyway, wine time. Have a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.