Peteyo

By Peteyo

Zumiez

Although work is currently in the off season and things are pretty slow, there are a few perks to working a crappy retail job. The discount is obviously a plus, but I'm also surrounded by clothing companies that I can find inspiration from. I'm able to see what sells vs what doesn't sell, color trends, and recent clothing design trends.

One of the brands that's inspired me quite a bit along the way is "Obey". The brand was started and developed by a man named Shepard Fairey. Shepard got fame from his street art that can now be seen on building worldwide. Shep first started by putting up various sized posters of an Andre the Giant design he created. After taking his artwork to clothing, the brand grew very popular over the last 3-4 years. It's slowly dying off with teens this year, but they still out amazing artwork on their clothing (for the most part).

I got a chance to meet Shepard at a company event 2 years ago in Colorado. After speaking with him and seeing him react to the giant crowd around him, I could definitely tell he enjoys avoiding the limelight like most street artists. I'm pretty sure since the fame Obey has brought him, he's backed off the clothing company and let his design team take over. Regardless they are all a good group of artists.

If you enjoy art/street art, I highly recommend watching the Netflix documentary, "Exit Through the Giftshop"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.